Indian Squad for the World Test Championship and England Tour

The BCCI has announced Indian squad for the World Test Championship and England Tour. The Virat Kohli-led side is expected to travel England on June 2. India is scheduled to play a World Test Championship against New Zealand from June 18 to 22 In Southampton, England and the Test series against England from August 4, starting in Nottingham, to September 14, with the last Test scheduled for Manchester.

There is no place for Hardik Pandya and Kuldeep Yadav in India’s squad of 20 players against WTC and England Tour. Mohammed Shami, Ravindra Jadeja and Hanuma Vihari returned to the squad after missing the home Tests against England because of their respective injuries. KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha both wicket-keeper batsman has name added to the squad subject to fitness clearance.  KL Rahul is currently recovering after successfully undergoing surgery for appendicitis. Meanwhile, Wriddhiman Saha had tested positive for COVID-19 and is currently recovering from the same. Both the players are expected to board the flight to England provided they can prove their fitness on time.

Also Read: When will IPL start now

BCCI has also named four stand-by players in case of any injury or COVID-19 related issue in England. They are Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

Indian Squad for WTC & England Tour :

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance). 

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

66 thoughts on “Indian Squad for the World Test Championship and England Tour”

Comments are closed.